30 Comments

Apologies For Absence, again!

Man lostTransBordWell all, it seems that I am back in a position where I need to apologise for yet another long period of absence.

The truth is that the way my mental health issues present themselves is generally not with a sudden dramatic or obviously noticeable ‘crash’ (although yes they sometimes happen) but with gentle, slow, gradual declines.

Which of course means that very often I – and others – don’t notice them.  Until I reach a point where the resultant fall-out – bills not being paid, the house becoming a total mess, greater levels of isolation, emails not being answered and thus mounting up etc. reach a point where they do become noticeable.

It also, of course, also very often means that the resultant damage of such episode is greater as the episodes themselves are more drawn out than with a sudden crash.  And additionally, since I do tend to isolate most of the time anyway and since most of these signs are specific to the confines of my home or personal accounts , it also means that to all intents and purposes to any onlooker, I appear to be ‘coping’ normally.

So yes, I do apologise to all those who may have emailed me or submitted articles for inclusion in respect of the Guild and it’s blog.  My apparent lack of response or enthusiasm is neither intended or deliberate.  Nor does it reflect on your emails or articles.  It is just a result of where I have been within my own head for some time now.

Once again, I find myself in a position where, as I look at my own personal blogs and blogs such as this one and others which I run as a community service or in order to raise awareness of issues close to my heart, I am stunned by the amount of time which has passed since my last posts.  And this concerns and saddens me greatly.

You are all, very important to me. Just as are the issues for which these blogs are written around. And I am so very sorry for the long void of activity.

I am hoping that over the next few days/weeks I can catch up on the emails I should have responded to and also begin to publish articles or guest submissions which have been submitted.  Should they be suitable of course.

So please accept my apologies and please bare with me.  I will do my best, I promise.

Kind regards and God bless you.

Kevin

 

30 comments on “Apologies For Absence, again!

  1. Feel better soon, Kevin!

  2. Kevin, kindest wishes and prayers to you in your recovery from this latest setback. Your efforts on behalf of mental health awareness are admirable! I’m glad that you were able to step away for a little while to put your own needs first. Please take care of yourself and know that you’re thought of.

    • Hi LuLu,

      Thank you that is very kind of you.

      I am doing better and am trying to sort things out and I am sure things are on the up 🙂

      Thank you so much for your comment and kindness.
      Kind regards and God bless you.
      Kevin

  3. Your honesty and transparency is appreciated.

  4. I totally get where you are coming from.. in fact, if I had not known it was yourself you were describing, I might have thought you were talking about me. I too have not been keeping up on posting to my blog.. I try to still post articles, and information to my blogs social media sites. The blogs poetry however, is vastly different from a simple remost, and comment to introduce. Hang in there my friend. Glad you are back.
    Namaste ~
    Elyse

  5. Welcome back, and remember, you cannot pour from an empty cup. You need to look after yourself too. Sometimes a timeout is needed, people understand and when you are ready you can catch up and find your strength and purpose again. I am new to blogging but am looking forward to looking through your posts.
    Take care. Jo x

    • Hi Jo,

      Many than ks for your kind comments. Sorry for the delayed response I wasn’t as ‘better’ as I first thought I was it seems.

      Hopefully things will advance quicker in respect of my playing catch up this time around.

      Kind regards and God bless you.
      Kevin

  6. Been there done that! Apologies not really necessary in this environment, I am fairly certain, unless leaving one is a step you need to take as an indication to yourself that you are feeling better. I hope that is the case.

    I’m sure the majority of your readers understand only too well the slow slide into malaise that seems to sneak up as suddenly as the cold splash when one reaches the end of a water slide.

    How kind of you to take possible hurt feelings or misunderstandings into account, however.

    I came upon the term “repair deficit” in the Gluten-free scientific writings – and I think it describes mental health slides perfectly. We cope and “repair” for as long as possible before it seems that, suddenly, we can no longer. When we are in a deficit position, it indicates that we become increasingly less equipped to handle new stressors to our systems – thus the seemingly “sudden” appearance when we get hit with ONE more thing we must rise above.

    There ARE signs, of course, but I believe that those of us who struggle have difficulty distinguishing when enough is becoming too much. Good for you for taking the time to take care of yourself.

    Leave me a quick comment on my blog (any article) when you are feeling up to taking another application. I would love to join your community and would proudly display its banner.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    • Hi mgh.

      Sorry for the really lengthy delay in responding. I have been unwell and extremely busy over the Christmas time. I am now in the process of trying to play catch up. Do you still wish to be considered for membership?

      Let me know please.
      Kind regards and God bless you.

      Kevin

      • I promise you I understand how that can happen and didn’t personalize. I appreciate THIS response. 🙂 Of course I am still interested.

        My December articles, focused around the holidays, are a yearly exception to what my blog is about (brain-based mental health information and advocacy). The sporadic Monday-Grumpy-Monday posts are usually a bit of a side-trip as well.

        The Master LinkList will give you an idea of what I usually cover. It is available as the first item on the dropdown menu at the top of my site, “LinkLists & Brain Transplants” (bottom bar, next to my hand made SITEMAP, which quickly became unwieldy).

        Thank you for your consideration, and I’m glad you are feeling enough like yourself to locate and respond to older comments.
        xx,
        mgh

        • Hi again Mgh,

          Great! So here is the pro forma (but personalised) acceptance message 🙂

          Many thanks for getting in touch and letting me know about your site “ADD… and so much more”

          I am pleased to be able to tell you that I have just popped over and visited your site and I am more than happy to include the “ADD… and so much more” site in our ‘Member Blogs’ list and in fact have just done exactly that. So welcome!

          Please feel free to copy this year’s Member Blog logo from that page and to display it on your site/blog if you wish to. As a member you are entitled to 🙂

          You are also very welcome to join in any competitions that are run and to give out the Warrior Child Award to any blogger whom you feel is deserving of it. You will find details of that award on its own page within the navigation bar.

          I should perhaps mention that due to many bloggers wishing to remain anonymous as a result of the stigma that still remains in respect of poor mental health and mental illness, blog membership is awarded to the site/blog and not the blogger or site owner. The only ways in which this is relevant is that it means that…

          a) Blog Membership does not (and therefore cannot be used to) imply or infer credibility to the person only to the site/blog, and then only in as much as the site/blog is seen to have a link to, or content concerning, the field of mental health and mental illness. Acceptance into Blog Membership does not therefore infer or imply that the Guild endorses any content within than site/blog. Additionally,

          b) should you have or wish to start a further blog or blogs, Blog Membership does not automatically transfer to that or those blogs and they must also be approved for membership.

          I think that about covers it so all that remains for me to say is that if I can be of any help please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me. And again “welcome to our little band of bloggers!”

          Kind Regards and God bless you.
          Kevin

          • What a wonderful service you provide – and I will proudly display the badge (and look for a post about this – coming “soon.” lol) Thank you for the honor.

            Your “rules” make total sense to me, btw. The point is to identify our blogs and our focus to one another (and to those looking for help and support, of course) – not to add metaphorical notches to our bedposts. 🙂
            xx, mgh

            • Hi again mgh,

              Thank you for your kind comments. I am about half to three quarters of the way through repairing the Member Blogs listing and then will get onto that posting.

              Great to have you with us.

              Kind regard and God bless you.
              Kevin.

              • You have taken a great deal of [never-ending] work upon yourself. I doubt that everyone who appreciates your efforts has taken the time to let you know, but I’m sure they do.

                Thanks for the warm welcome. btw – “ABOUT the Mental Health Writers Guild” posts later this evening, including a [working] link to Voices of Glass.
                xx,
                mgh

                • Hi again mgh,

                  I saw the post before I saw this comment. Somehow this comment went into the spam folder. Grrr WordPress when will you ever stop being an overprotective nanny who gets things wrong?

                  Many thanks for all the support.
                  Kind regards and God bless you.

                  Kevin

                  • I’m happy you found it at all! I get so MUCH link-spam (millions, according to my site’s spam counter) that I only have time to dig through the top layer unless I can’t sleep yet don’t have the focus for much of anything else. Even then I don’t get far, comparatively.

                    Since I *rarely* find more than one or two that don’t belong there, it’s twice as hard to let those spammers steal precious moments of my life.

                    Somebody just commented that it
                    might be an Akismet glitch. Who knows? But as long as they can each blame the other, I doubt it will stop.
                    xx,
                    mgh

                    • LOL I seem to be on a roll today.

                      I have got lots of work done and even caught up on all my comments.

                      “Time for bed said Zebedee.” (It’s and English children’s tv quote from my childhood – apparently I did have one)

                      Good night God bless.
                      Kevin

              • I see that, by the time I got to this comment, you are DONE with that administrative time-taker. Congrats! I did check, as you asked, and grinned when I say ADDandSoMuchMore.com among them (with a link that works perfectly)

                btw – heard from a follower that she forwarded my article about the Mental Health Writers Guild to a relative – which is exactly why I wrote it. To help spread the word.
                xx,
                mgh

  7. Hi Kevin,

    You know you are not alone. Many of us share your experience. I have only discovered your blog this morning and reading through there are a number of similarities in what we are going through.
    I started my own blog a month or so ago, more as an outlet for those things that we often lock away in our heads; I have used countless notebooks over the years for the same purpose until one day I thought I needed somewhere that I can access anywhere, without the need to remember my notebook, and maybe someone along the way may identify with what I am going through and who knows, it may assist them in some way.
    Keep up the good work, stay strong and I look forward to reading more that you have written.

    Regards,
    D

    • Hi D.

      Many thanks for taking time to comment and apologies for the delayed response. Sadly I was ill again.

      Thank you so much for your kind comments.
      Kind regards and God bless you
      Kevin

  8. […] I finally had the time and focus last year, the life of the site creator and administrator wasn’t in a place where he could keep up with the administration required, so was unable to respond to requests for […]

Leave a Reply

