5 Comments

Introducing Healthsofa.com

Recently I received an email via my personal blog Voices of Glass.  The email in question was from the administrator over at Health Sofa and asked for my input concerning the site.

Health sofa aims “to give users a platform to share and learn from experiences others made in an easy-to-use question-and-answer format.1” According to what I have been told, the focus, “used to be on medications1” but has now expanded to “general health topics1“.

The site is user-led and undergoing some new changes in it’s layout and design at the moment in order to make it more user-friendly and to be appealing to a wider audience.

Working on the understanding, as stated on the site, that they want to “help you with getting an answer to your question.2” And that “The contributors at healthsofa do not provide a replacement for professional help from your doctor or healthcare professional.2” I personally think this could be an excellent resource.

I like the fact that they warn visitors that “No user-generated submissions are reviewed for factual correctness.2” and that they give a clear warning and advice to, “Always consult your doctor if you need specific advice for your healthcare needs.2

The information provided on the site is free and questions can be asked anonymously without the need to register if you prefer.  And all information shared can serve as basis for research that assists your needs for information.

As bloggers who blog about mental health related issues and who have first hand experience of mental health medication our input can, I feel, be invaluable on such a site.

If you are interested and have the time, why not pop across to HealthSofa and check it out and let me know what you think. I really would be interested in your feedback and I am sure that the administrator over there would also value your feedback.

Whilst I have not advised him that I will be posting this post concerning the site, I am aware that he wishes to get the forum out there and available to more people and I will be advising him of this post so that he too can read your comments concerning the site.

Many thanks.

Kind Regards and God bless you.
Kevin.

1 Quotes taken from administrator’s email to me.
2 Quotes taken directly from the healthsofa site.

5 comments on “Introducing Healthsofa.com

  1. This doesn’t necessarily have to do with the above post (Is there a special spot on wordpress to leave kudos comments?), but I just wanted to leave a comment on how much I am so incredibly happy that this blog is alive and existing! I have been browsing through the blog and other community/group blogs and think it’s so amazing that you have put together and participate in these blessingly GREAT communities for all the mental health bloggers out there–and how successful it seems to be! Truly, I am ever so thankful. I want to get to know the blog and bloggers more but since I am so easily shocked by the information I am afraid the only way I will ever be able to do it in a respectable manner is slow and gradual hah!

    Though I am SO looking forward to more!
    Sarah

    • Hi Sarah,

      Really good to hear from you.

      Yes we are very blessed to have a great bunch of bloggers in this guild and they have so many diverse, interesting and informative blogs.

      It is really good to have you as part of us and I hope you will visit and get to know lots of other members and their blogs.

      Kind Regard and many thanks for your kind words.

      Blessings.

      Kevin.

  2. Excellent blog. Highly recommended.

  3. I just checked it out briefly. It is not quite as user-friendly as it could be, but I think it is a great platform and I have registered there to see if I can help with unanswered questions with which I may be familiar. In short, I recommend it!
    Maggie

    • Hi Maggie,

      Yes I agree with you that it is not as user friendly as perhaps it could be but my understanding is that the site admin is working on that and aware of it.
      Really pleased you have registered over there and I hope you can offer some valuable insights.

      Kind Regards and God bless you.
      Kevin.

Leave a Reply

