3 Comments

Member’s Profile… The Broken Light Collective

As part of our Member’s Profile series, this week I thought I would feature one of our newest members.  So new in fact that it is entirely possible they will receive notification of this post before they have received my email confirming their acceptance into membership ๐Ÿ™‚

D. from over at ‘The Broken Light Collective‘, contacted me a couple of days ago about membership and also included a bio for us to use as part of this feature and for that I am of course most grateful.

So here you have it, D or rather D and the Broken Light Collective‘s Member’s Profile.  I hope you enjoy it and will pop over and check it out….

I’m D. My background is in magazine and book publishing, where I worked as a photo editor/researcher and photographer. Earlier this year, I was going through a deep depression–something I have struggled with on and off for many years–and found that when I began photographing again it was a powerful tool, both personally and therapeutically. I actually used photography as part of my therapy. It helped bring light to certain mood states and areas of my life that I could not articulate with words. I started the Broken Light Collective because I wanted to encourage other people who might be going through difficult times (or their family and friends since it affects everyone), to keep creating, sharing, and supporting each other, no matter what they are going through. I also wanted to create a safe space where people with mental illness, whether they are photographers or not, could feel understood and know that they are not alone.
 
The Broken Light Collective features original photography accompanied by contributor write-ups that include their connection to mental illness. We have contributors from around the world with a range of mental health issues, including depression, bipolar, anxiety, panic disorder, ADD, BPD, PTSD, and more; as well as mental health professionals. We welcome new contributors of all levels of photography and writing.

 

3 comments on “Member’s Profile… The Broken Light Collective

  1. Thanks for sharing! Another great blog for me to follow too ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I have been the victim of severe depression, anxiety, panic disorder, and insomnia for long. I’ve tried using Cymbalta, Paxil, and Effexor. Recently, my psychiatrist prescribed Prozac, Ambien, Abilify, and Xanax. This combo may seem to are good, although I still have severe insomnia anymore. I’m hoping he can also say a thing used in combination with the Ambien or extend the medication dosage; often, the symptoms and signs have dramatically minimised for me.
    This site help me a lot http://www.about-depression.net/insomnia-and-depression/

Leave a Reply

