2 Comments

Link Between Exercise And Mental Health

I read an interesting article on exercise and mental health and the link between them this morning.

Whilst the link between exercise and mental health is not a new thing by any stretch of the imagination, and whilst I am always keen to point out that lots of folk who suffer from  poor mental health also suffer with poor physical health which makes exercising more difficult, I do think this article is worth the read.  Especially if you are also a parent.

You can find the article on the “Medical News Today” website and it is located here.
Let me know what you think 🙂

2 comments on “Link Between Exercise And Mental Health

  1. This is an interesting article about a topic that tends to get me stuck. I accept that physical exercise (if I am physically able) can aid my mental health. But what about when it does the opposite? What I mean is that I used physical exercise to extreme (I don’t now, but probably only because my body can’t take it anymore) and became addicted to over-exercising. Now I know that can be a bit of a joke to someone who doesn’t like exercise, but it was no joke and I know many people, parrticularly those with eating disorders and poor body image, who struggle the same way. I guess the point I’m trying to make is that there are always two sides and moderation has to be key. But if we are going to talk about mental health and exercise it is important at least to acknowledge that just occasionally physical exercise is actually to the detriment of mental health.

    • Hi Cate,

      I think you raise a very valid point and that actually too much exercise can in some circumstances be just as detrimental to your mental health as too little. And I think that actually the level of what constitutes as “too much” is specific to each individual and their abilities.

      I know that sometimes, when my physical health is particularly bad I am able to do very little physically, even when I am “well” I can’t do a great deal compared to most, but even in those situations where my Chronic Fatigue etc are at me I have a tendency to try to do too much and then suffer physically and then mentally as a result of that.

      I aboslutely agree with you that the converse is also true when we are talking about doing too little physically and I absolutely agree with you that a) that needs acknowledging and b) moderation is the best way forward.

      Recently I posted on ‘voices’ a post about ‘listening to your body’ and I think that is, as you point out, the key here. Know your body and your limitations, do all you can within moderation and be realistic about your expectations and the demands you put on yourself.

      Many thanks for reminding us of this.
      Hope you are well
      Kind Regards and God bless you.
      Kevin.

      Now I know that can be a bit of a joke to someone who doesn’t like exercise, but it was no joke and I know many people, parrticularly those with eating disorders and poor body image, who struggle the same way. I guess the point I’m trying to make is that there are always two sides and moderation has to be key. But if we are going to talk about mental health and exercise it is important at least to acknowledge that just occasionally physical exercise is actually to the detriment of mental health.
      I

Leave a Reply

